DDS Dental

Dental clinic · Escazú, San José Province, Costa Rica

  • Prices posted · 8
  • Named, no license numbers
  • Name matches dental college roll · 5
  • Guarantee mentioned, no term

What the clinic publishes

Posts prices on its own site for 8 procedures tracked here.

Names 8 practitioners but shows no license numbers.

Each of 5 names matches exactly one entry on the public roll of Costa Rica's Colegio de Cirujanos Dentistas.

Mentions a guarantee without stating a term; the wording is below.

Says it opened in 2005.

Statements about the clinic were read on its own website and are linked below. Costa Rican dentists' names were searched on the Colegio de Cirujanos Dentistas' public roll; nothing else has been checked with a regulator or accreditor.

Where

Plaza Fuentes del Obelisco, local 5 y 6, San Rafael de Escazú, San José, Costa Rica

Escazú, San José Province, Costa Rica

Search this address on Google Maps

Clinic's own site and numbers

www.ddsdentalcr.com

US +1 561 273 1252

Costa Rica +506 2289 4040

Languages the site lists: English, Spanish

Posted prices

The clinic's own figures, in the currency and wording it used (an exact price, a "from" price or a range). Lists change and a quote after an exam can differ from a list; the unit column matters, since "per arch" and "per tooth" are not comparable.

ProcedurePosted priceUnitWhat the clinic saysSource
All-on-4 (per arch)from $5,750first stage onlyfirst trip, 'starting from'clinic site
All-on-6 (per arch)from $7,555first stage onlyfirst trip, 'starting from'clinic site
Root canal, molarfrom $380per tooth'Root canal treatment' starting fromclinic site
Composite fillingfrom $105per toothstarting fromclinic site
Crown, material not statedfrom $670per tooth'Crowns over natural teeth' starting from; material not statedclinic site
Implant abutment and crownfrom $905per implant'Crowns over dental implants' starting fromclinic site
In-office whiteningfrom $380per procedurestarting fromclinic site
Porcelain veneerfrom $670per tooth'Veneers' starting fromclinic site

Full list: clinic's price page

Practitioners the clinic names

As listed on the clinic's site. The license column shows the number printed there, or that none is.

NameRoleLicense number shownPublic rollTraining the clinic lists
Dr. Vinicio PradaProsthodonticsNone shown
Activo (active)VINICIO PRADA VALVERDE · code 1326092 · prostodoncia
Dr. Enrique GonzalezPeriodonticsNone shownNo single match
Dr. Alejandro SaenzOral and Maxillofacial SurgeryNone shown
Activo (active)ALEJANDRO SAENZ GUTIERREZ · code 1375093 · cirugia oral-maxilofacial
Dr. Rolando GuzmánOrthodonticsNone shownNo single match
Dr. Paola CarranzaEndodonticsNone shown
Activo (active)PAOLA CARRANZA COLINA · code 1782000 · endodoncia
Dr. Gabriela AtmetllaPediatric DentistryNone shown
Activo (active)GABRIELA MARIA ATMETLLA VAN DER LAAT · code 206701 · odontopediatria
Dr. BarrantesGeneral dentistNone shownNo single match
Dr. Karol ArceGeneral dentistNone shown
Activo (active)KAROL MARIANA ARCE CABRERA · code 334207 · no specialty listed

"Public roll" is the Colegio de Cirujanos Dentistas de Costa Rica's own register, searched by name. A row is filled only when exactly one registered dentist matches every part of the name the clinic prints; status and specialty are the Colegio's words. Search the roll yourself.

A number shown on a clinic's site is a claim until it is looked up. Costa Rican dentists must be incorporated in the Colegio de Cirujanos Dentistas, whose public roll is searchable by name or code and shows each dentist's status and registered specialty. Physicians are listed by the Colegio de Médicos y Cirujanos. Colegio de Cirujanos Dentistas de Costa Rica.

Accreditation and membership claims

The pages read claim no named accreditation or professional body.

The site also states

  • Claims 'strictest safety and hygiene standards per the ADA'; '5 US-certified specialists'; no registry number posted source

These name no register to check them against; ask the clinic for the certificate and who issued it.

Other things the site states

Opened
2005 source
Guarantee mentioned, no term stated
'Your procedure is guaranteed: if something needs fixing, we make it right*' (asterisk terms not shown on page) read the clinic's wording
Dental lab
In-house, as posted
Airport the clinic names
SJO (20 minutes, as posted)

Not on the pages read

The pages read did not show license numbers for the practitioners it names or any named accreditation. Those are the first things to ask for.

Sources

Is something here wrong or out of date? Send the clinic's page that shows the correct information through the contact form. A clinic that wants its page removed can ask the same way.

Other clinics in and near Escazú